The Australian Space Design Competition is the junior version of the International Space Settlement Design Challenge held at Houston, USA. This weekend (18 &19 January) six ASMS students are competing in Brisbane.

After entering for the first time last year, ASMS student leaders, David McAfee and Philipp Grozinger, designed the ASMS project plan and led the team work of ten year 10 and 11 students. To win a place in the competition the ASMS team designed a space settlement called “Canberrat”. Other team members going to Brisbane are Jaewook Lee, Yunsik Kim, Mischa Batelaan and Nick Arman.